top of page
  • Writer's pictureTammie Johnson

Subscription Beauty Boxes 101.

The beauty industry constantly reinvents itself to meet the demands and expectations of the consumer. With our fast pace lives who has time to "window shop"? Or just browse the makeup counters anymore? Well you no longer have to even leave the comfort of home to discover new brands or enjoy old favorites.

Subscription beauty boxes have taken the beauty world by storm, but not all boxes are created equal. There are as many types of beauty boxes and price points as there are individual consumers. I have compiled a few pointers of what to look for and consider before subscribing to a particular box service.

First let's go over a few terms you may encounter when looking for a subscription beauty box.

"MSRP"- manufacturer suggested retail price. This is the price you would pay in a store or online at the brands site.

"Deluxe sample - this means you will receive a sample of the product that can be used 3 or more times. Where as a regular sample size is a single use or application of the product.

"Drugstore brands"- refers to products that you can find at your local drugstore such as a Rite-Aid or Wal-Mart. These are often the most affordable brands.

"High-End" - these are the products you would find at more upscale stores and are often more expensive.


Now that we have a bit of the lingo down we can talk about some of the things to be aware of. Ask the following questions.


1. What is my price point or how much can I afford or am I willing to pay?

2. Will I receive samples, deluxe samples or full size items?

3. How many items will I receive?

4. Am I able to choose any of the items I receive?

5. Is this a monthly, bi-monthly or seasonal/quarterly subscription?

6. Can I cancel at anytime? Or suspend my subscription if I need to?

7. What day of the month will I be billed on?

8. What is the replacement policy if an item is damaged?

9. Is there a referral program? 10. Can I subscribe to more than one tier or subscription level?

11. Is there a birthday or subscription anniversary gift?

12. What is the best method to contact customer service.

Getting the answers to these questions will help you filter out services that don’t meet your needs. Subscription boxes are a great way to try out new products and help keep you on trend.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page